London Borough of Hounslow

The London Borough of Hounslow is a borough in West London, forming part of Outer London. It stretches from near central London in the east (Chiswick) to the border with Surrey in the west (Feltham and Bedfont), covering five major towns: Chiswick, Brentford, Isleworth, Hounslow and Feltham.

How does your organisation contribute to preventing suicide and supporting those affected by it?

Hounslow council and its partners are committed to suicide prevention. We have a suicide prevention strategy and are working to save lives in our borough by increasing the resilience of the general population and improving support for those who are vulnerable. We also work with other boroughs and the Mayor of London on issues that are London-wide in support of the Zero-suicide ambition for London.

What are your current priorities?

We are currently working hard to refresh our Suicide Prevention Strategy which will be available later in 2022.

What challenges are you currently facing?

Gaps in our data and knowledge. However actions in the new strategy will help to rectify these.